Research / Study

Evaluation of Donor-Derived B Cell Infusions in Patients With Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis (ALS)

NCT07838389 · Not yet recruiting

Official study sources

ClinicalTrials.gov · NCT07838389

Last verified: 09-30-2026 · ClinicalTrials.gov

Overview

Official title
Evaluation of Haploidentical, Donor-Derived B Lymphocyte Infusions in Patients With Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis
Brief title
Evaluation of Donor-Derived B Cell Infusions in Patients With Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis (ALS)
Registration type
ClinicalTrials.gov
NCT number
NCT07838389
Status
Not yet recruiting
Study category
Interventional, Drug trial
Sponsor / center
Mark Poznansky
Research center
Not stated in the official study record.
Collaborators
Alira Health, Dana-Farber Cancer Institute, Massachusetts Eye and Ear Infirmary
Study type
Interventional study
Phase
Phase 1
Enrollment
10
Start date
09-XX-2027
Primary completion date
01-XX-2030
Estimated / actual completion date
01-XX-2030
Last source update
09-24-2026

What is being studied?

This is a phase 1, non-randomized, open-label study to assess the safety and pharmacokinetics of up to 2 doses of donor B cells. Up to 10 recipients will each receive 2 infusions of donor B cells at doses of ≥ 2.0 x 10\^8 and ≤ 1.0 x 10\^9 donor B cells delivered at least 60 days apart. The first three participants will receive infusions as inpatients in a staggered fashion 30 days apart. After completion of a 30-day observation of the third participant after the second infusion, study investigators will determine whether the infusions are safe and well-tolerated and that there are no indications of significant immune rejection of the donor B cells. In such a case the remaining participants will receive 2 infusions in an outpatient setting with no mandatory staggering interval. Each participant will be followed for six months after the second infusion. Donors. Each subject will be consented along with a relative meeting the HLA matching requirements to serve as a donor. The patient and potential donor will be HLA (A, B and DR- B1) tested and the potential donor will be a haploidentical match to the recipient, will have cleared all medical and infectious diseases screening tests, and will have agreed to be the B cell donor for this study. Each donor will undergo one or more leukapheresis procedures each yielding up to 1.5 mL of a concentrated white cell fraction. Purified B cells will be derived from these cells for a target final yield of between 2.0 x 108 and 1.0 x 109 B cells. Purified donor B cells will be stored in liquid nitrogen and thawed at bedside for infusion into participant. Recipients. Prior to infusion, each enrolled subject will have a pre-infusion visit (study Day -50 to -40) where medical history will be taken, vitals and ALS-related measurements will be taken and a blood sample drawn to establish baseline blood counts, chemistry, and immunologic profile. Treatment. All participants will receive up to 2 infusions of ≥ 2.0 x 10\^8 and ≤ 1.0 x 10\^9 donor B cells with the second infusion no less than 60 days after the first infusion. Participants will receive infusions with no preparatory treatment. Donor B cells in a concentration of 1.0 x 10\^7 donor B cells/mL in a volume of up to 100 mL will be delivered over a 2-hour period through a peripheral line pre-incubated with a 4% solution of human serum albumin. Evaluation. The first three participants will receive infusions as inpatients to carefully monitor responses to infusions for up to 24 hours. These participants will be staggered 30 days apart. If infusions of inpatient participants appear to be well tolerated and safe, the remaining participants will receive infusions as outpatients with no staggering. Safety monitoring will include periodic measurement of vital signs and specific blood tests, monitoring of changes in medical history, reports of AEs, evaluation of ALS status through ALSFRS-R and grip strength, and assessment of Columbia Suicide Severity Rating Scale. Blood tests will be taken periodically to monitor for changes in CBC, including ESR and CRP, and a metabolic panel that includes an expanded range of kidney function tests as well as ferritin. Study investigators will evaluate blood markers of immune rejection at time points up to the first four weeks after each infusion. During the study, blood tests will be taken periodically to monitor other immunologic markers including flow cytometry using an established antibody panel developed for the previously-conducted expanded access studies.

Intervention(s)

B cell infusion

Type: BIOLOGICAL

infusion of haploidentical donor CD19+ B cells

Who may be eligible?

This is a simplified summary. The official study team or research center determines eligibility.

Population / disease status
Diagnosed ALS
Diagnosis / conditions
ALS - Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis
Age
18 Years to 70 Years
Disease duration
> 36 months accepted
Respiratory criteria
Not stated in the official study record.
ALSFRS-R criteria
The official eligibility criteria include language relevant to this topic; review the full criteria below.
Genetic criteria
Not stated in the official study record.
Medication requirements
The official eligibility criteria include language relevant to this topic; review the full criteria below.

Major inclusion and exclusion criteria from the official record

Inclusion Criteria:

1. Confirmed diagnosis of ALS that meets the revised El Escorial criteria for probable lab-supported, probable, or definite ALS.
2. Age 18-70 years.
3. Vital capacity of \>65%.
4. ALSFRS-R score of \>30.
5. Absence of clinically important abnormalities on screening labs, including but not limited to ALT/AST \< 3x ULN, Bilirubin \<1.5x ULN (unless there is documented history of Gilbert's disease), serum Cr \< 1.5x ULN, WBC \> 3.5, HCT \>33, Plts \> 120.
6. Negative tests for HIV, HepB sAg, HCV.
7. Available potential donor who must be a haploidentical match to the recipient and agree to be the B cell donor for this study.

   * Note: Participants are eligible if they are taking any, all, or none of the following: riluzole, edaravone, and/or high-dose methylcobalamine; and the start date of these medications are at least 30 days prior to the baseline visit.

Exclusion Criteria:

1. Unable or unwilling to comply with protocol requirements.
2. Known current or history of recurrent bacterial, viral, fungal, mycobacterial, or other opportunistic infection.
3. Use of tofersen (Qalsody).
4. Use of Rituximab (Rituxan), Ocrelizumab (Ocrevus), Ofatumumab (Kesimpta, Arzerra), Epratuzumab (LymphoCide), Belimumab (Benlysta), MEDI-551, or other anti-CD20, anti-CD19, or anti-CD22 antibodies.
5. Use of Atacicpet or other BlyS or APRIL inhibitors.
6. Use of Chimeric antigen-receptor T cells targeting CD19 or CD20, including tisagenlecleucel (Kymriah), Aaxicabtagene ciloleucel (Yescarta), brexucabtagene autoleucel (Tecartus), and lisocabtagene maraleucel (Breyanzi).
7. Additional active neurological disease that could confound the participant's ALS symptoms.
8. Major episode of infection requiring hospitalization or treatment with IV antibiotics within 4 weeks of screening.
9. Immunization with live-attenuated vaccines within 4 weeks of screening. Study participant must agree to forgo live-attenuated vaccines throughout the study.
10. Chronic immunosuppression (any chronic immunosuppressive immunotherapy including daily oral steroid use \> 6 months).
11. Other active autoimmune disease except psoriasis or hypothyroidism.
12. Active malignancy (excluding skin cancer other than melanoma) within 5 years.
13. History of any of the following: cardiac insufficiency (defined as New York Heart Association III/IV), unstable ischemic heart disease, uncontrolled cardiac arrhythmias, or uncontrolled hypertension (defined as systolic blood pressure \>170 mmHg or diastolic blood pressure \>110 mmHg).
14. Unstable cardiac, renal, hepatic, endocrine, pulmonary or hematologic disease, at the discretion of the PI.
15. Anything that, in the opinion of the PI, would place the participant at increased risk or preclude the participant's full compliance with or the completion of the study.
16. Participant unwilling to practice contraception for the duration of the study. Men and women of childbearing potential (WOCBP) should use an approved method of birth control and agree to continue to use this method for the duration of the study.

    Acceptable methods of contraception include abstinence, female participants/partner's use of hormonal contraceptive (oral, implanted, or injected) in conjunction with a barrier method (WOCBP only) (e.g., diaphragm, cervical cap, male condom, and female condom and spermicidal foam, sponges, and film), female participant's/partner's use of an intrauterine device (IUD), or if the female participant/partner is surgically sterile (e.g., bilateral tubal ligation, hysterectomy) or two years postmenopausal at time of screening. All male participants/partners (excluding men who have been sterilized) must agree to consistently and correctly use a condom for duration of the study. In addition, participants may not donate sperm for the duration of the study.
17. Participation in another interventional trial or use of an experimental ALS product with an ongoing clinical development program in an expanded access program, compassionate use program or through practitioner prescription. Over the counter medications are acceptable, as are standard of care ALS medications.

Genetics

Gene-specific study?
No
Gene or variant
Any / Not gene-specific
Genetic test required?
Not stated in the official study record.
Known carrier required?
Not stated
Confirmed pathogenic variant required?
Not stated in the official study record.
Presymptomatic carriers eligible?
Not stated in the official study record.
At-risk relative eligible?
Not stated
Genetic test provided?
Not stated in the official study record.
Genetic counseling provided?
Not stated in the official study record.
Results returned / offered?
Not stated
Family history required?
Not stated in the official study record.

Study design

Randomized?
Not stated in the official study record.
Allocation
Not stated in the official study record.
Intervention model
Not stated in the official study record.
Masking
Not stated in the official study record.
Placebo
Not stated in the official study record.
Primary purpose
Not stated in the official study record.

Endpoints

Primary outcome measures

  • Infusion associated adverse events of special interest
  • Evidence of host rejection of infused cells

Secondary outcome measures

Not stated in the official study record.

A biomarker outcome should not automatically be interpreted as a clinical outcome.

Locations

Sean M. Healey and AMG Center for ALS at Massachusetts General Hospital

Boston, Massachusetts, United States · 02114

Location status: Not yet recruiting

Contact: Dario Gelevski · DGELEVSKI@mgh.harvard.edu · 617-726-0563; James D Berry, MD, MPH; Kellen Quigg, MD, MS

Contact

Central contact: Mark C Poznansky, MD, PhD · mpoznansky@mgb.org · 617-724-6375; Allison M Baldwin, MPH · akmitchell@mgh.harvard.edu · 617-643-2478

Study official: James D Berry, MD, MPH · Massachusetts General Hospital · PRINCIPAL_INVESTIGATOR