Research / Study

A Study to Investigate the Safety and Pharmacodynamics of a Single Intrathecal Injection (IT) of INS1202 in Participants With Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis (ALS)

NCT07290062 · Recruiting

Official study sources

ClinicalTrials.gov · NCT07290062

Last verified: 09-30-2026 · ClinicalTrials.gov

Overview

Official title
A Phase 1, Multicenter, Open-label, Dose-Finding Study to Investigate the Safety and Pharmacodynamics of a Single Intrathecal Injection of INS1202 in Patients With Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis
Brief title
A Study to Investigate the Safety and Pharmacodynamics of a Single Intrathecal Injection (IT) of INS1202 in Participants With Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis (ALS)
Registration type
ClinicalTrials.gov
NCT number
NCT07290062
Status
Recruiting
Study category
Interventional, Drug trial, Genetic
Sponsor / center
Insmed Gene Therapy LLC
Research center
Not stated in the official study record.
Collaborators
Not stated in the official study record.
Study type
Interventional study
Phase
Phase 1
Enrollment
23
Start date
01-09-2026
Primary completion date
03-31-2030
Estimated / actual completion date
03-31-2030
Last source update
09-23-2026

What is being studied?

The primary objective of this dose-finding study is to evaluate the safety, tolerability and pharmacodynamics of single dose of INS1202 via IT administration in participants ≥ 18 to \<80 years of age with ALS who carry superoxide dismutase type 1 (SOD1) mutations or harbor no known ALS-related genetic mutation.

Intervention(s)

INS1202

Type: GENETIC

Suspension for injection.

Who may be eligible?

This is a simplified summary. The official study team or research center determines eligibility.

Population / disease status
Familial / genetic ALS, Sporadic ALS, Diagnosed ALS
Diagnosis / conditions
Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis
Age
18 Years to 79 Years
Disease duration
> 36 months accepted
Respiratory criteria
Not stated in the official study record.
ALSFRS-R criteria
The official eligibility criteria include language relevant to this topic; review the full criteria below.
Genetic criteria
The official eligibility criteria include language relevant to this topic; review the full criteria below.
Medication requirements
The official eligibility criteria include language relevant to this topic; review the full criteria below.

Major inclusion and exclusion criteria from the official record

Key Inclusion Criteria: -

* Participant with body mass index (BMI) ≥18 kilograms per square meter (kg/m\^2).
* Participant with symptomatic ALS as diagnosed by Gold Coast diagnostic criteria.
* Sporadic ALS cohorts: Negative testing for known monogenic mutations associated with familial ALS.
* SOD1-ALS (Cohorts 2 and 3 only): Confirmed pathogenic SOD1 mutation, with negative testing for other genetic mutations associated with familial ALS.
* Any polymorphism or mutation in the coding region will require additional review by the Sponsor to determine compatibility with the study intervention.
* Baseline ALSFRS-R ≥ 24.
* ALS disease duration ≤ 42 months.

Key Exclusion Criteria: -

* Previous treatment for ALS with cellular or gene therapies.
* Any investigational medication or treatment (for ALS or other condition).

Note: Other protocol-defined inclusion/exclusion criteria may apply.

Genetics

Gene-specific study?
Yes
Gene or variant
SOD1
Genetic test required?
Not stated in the official study record.
Known carrier required?
Not stated
Confirmed pathogenic variant required?
Not stated in the official study record.
Presymptomatic carriers eligible?
Not stated in the official study record.
At-risk relative eligible?
Not stated
Genetic test provided?
Not stated in the official study record.
Genetic counseling provided?
Not stated in the official study record.
Results returned / offered?
Not stated
Family history required?
Not stated in the official study record.

Study design

Randomized?
Not stated in the official study record.
Allocation
Not stated in the official study record.
Intervention model
Not stated in the official study record.
Masking
Not stated in the official study record.
Placebo
Not stated in the official study record.
Primary purpose
Not stated in the official study record.

Endpoints

Primary outcome measures

  • Incidence and Severity of Treatment Emergent Adverse Events (TEAEs)

Secondary outcome measures

  • Recommended Phase 2 Dose (RP2D) of INS1202-101
  • Viral Vector Shedding Following the IT Administration of INS1202 by Droplet Digital Polymerase Chain Reaction (ddPCR)

A biomarker outcome should not automatically be interpreted as a clinical outcome.

Locations

USA004

La Jolla, California, United States · 92037

Location status: RECRUITING

Contact: rprevite@health.ucsd.edu

USA002

Palo Alto, California, United States · 94304

Location status: RECRUITING

Contact: NEUROMUSCULARRESEARCH@STANFORD.EDU

USA003

Baltimore, Maryland, United States · 21205

Location status: RECRUITING

Contact: emosmil1@jhmi.edu

USA009

Worcester, Massachusetts, United States · 01655

Location status: RECRUITING

Contact: danielle.kokoski@umassmed.edu

USA001

Columbia, Missouri, United States · 65211

Location status: RECRUITING

Contact: heathermchatton@health.missouri.edu

USA007

Columbus, Ohio, United States · 43221

Location status: RECRUITING

Contact: ALSResearch@osumc.edu

USA006

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States · 19107

Location status: RECRUITING

Contact: Alexander.McGeary@jefferson.edu

Contact

Central contact: Insmed Medical Information · medicalinformation@insmed.com · 1-844-446-7633