Research / Study

PiCALS: Pathogenesis in C9orf72-Related ALS

Institutional study · Recruitment status requires confirmation

Official study sources

Institutional study

Last verified: 09-30-2026 · Emory ALS Center

Overview

Official title
Pathogenesis in C9orf72-Related ALS (PiCALS)
Brief title
PiCALS: Pathogenesis in C9orf72-Related ALS
Registration type
Institutional study
NCT number
Not stated
Status
Recruitment status requires confirmation
Study category
Genetic, Presymptomatic, Biomarker, Natural history, Prevention
Sponsor / center
Emory University
Research center
Emory ALS Center
Collaborators
Not stated in the official study record.
Study type
Observational study
Phase
Not applicable / observational
Enrollment
Not stated in the official study record.
Start date
Not stated in the official study record.
Primary completion date
Not stated in the official study record.
Estimated / actual completion date
Not stated in the official study record.
Last source update
Not stated in the official study record.

What is being studied?

Adults age 18 or older may be eligible if they have a blood relative diagnosed with C9 ALS or are known C9orf72 carriers without ALS symptoms. Procedures described by Emory include genetic counseling, C9orf72 testing, neurological and physical examinations, blood collection, lumbar puncture, and recurring clinic visits.

Intervention(s)

Not stated in the official study record.

Who may be eligible?

This is a simplified summary. The official study team or research center determines eligibility.

Population / disease status
Presymptomatic gene carrier, At-risk family member, Blood relative
Diagnosis / conditions
C9orf72-related ALS risk
Age
18 Years to Not stated in the official study record.
Disease duration
Not stated in the official study record.
Respiratory criteria
Not stated in the official study record.
ALSFRS-R criteria
Not stated in the official study record.
Genetic criteria
The official eligibility criteria include language relevant to this topic; review the full criteria below.
Medication requirements
Not stated in the official study record.

Official center study description

Adults age 18 or older may be eligible if they have a blood relative diagnosed with C9 ALS or are known C9orf72 carriers without ALS symptoms. Procedures described by Emory include genetic counseling, C9orf72 testing, neurological and physical examinations, blood collection, lumbar puncture, and recurring clinic visits.

Genetics

Gene-specific study?
Yes
Gene or variant
C9orf72
Genetic test required?
Yes
Known carrier required?
Not stated
Confirmed pathogenic variant required?
Not stated
Presymptomatic carriers eligible?
Yes
At-risk relative eligible?
Yes
Genetic test provided?
Yes
Genetic counseling provided?
Yes
Results returned / offered?
Yes
Family history required?
Yes

Study design

Randomized?
Not stated in the official study record.
Allocation
Not stated in the official study record.
Intervention model
Not stated in the official study record.
Masking
Not stated in the official study record.
Placebo
Not stated in the official study record.
Primary purpose
Not stated in the official study record.

Endpoints

Primary outcome measures

Not stated in the official study record.

Secondary outcome measures

Not stated in the official study record.

A biomarker outcome should not automatically be interpreted as a clinical outcome.

Locations

Emory ALS Center

Atlanta, Georgia, United States

Location status: Recruitment status requires confirmation

Contact: Not stated in the official study record.

Contact

Central contact: Not stated in the official study record.